The Struggle is Real

Imagine a novel without dialogue.

Horrifying?

When you open a book for the first time, your eyes are seeking white space. No one wants to read pages of lengthy paragraphs burdened with aimless, wandering descriptions. Readers need to see your characters interacting, moving the plot forward, otherwise the pages are filled with silence.

Dialogue is not small talk; it must serve a purpose.

This is my struggle and also the struggle of many others. I don’t want my audience to grow bored with my one-dimensional characters. I borrowed an excellent book from the library that has various suggestions to practice writing dialogue.

For example:

1) Create a conversation between your protagonist and antagonist. Ensure that their words clearly convey motives and we can have sympathy for both characters.

2) “What if [your] characters start talking and they all sound the same?”

“…Stop writing for a moment, pull up a page, and just start writing like a mad person in the character’s point of view…Don’t think about what you’re writing. Write about anything. Explode.”

Thank you, Gloria Kempton for the advice!

6 thoughts on “The Struggle is Real

  1. Actually, for me the dialogue is the easy bit. I hear my characters voices in my head (a little too often and too clearly sometimes!). But then, my background is as a playwright which fits well with michaelulinedwards comment. My challenge is remembering to put in enough information to sensibly link the dialogue.

Leave a Reply

