Words Sprout from Clever Hands

As a chronic klutz, learning American Sign Language is a challenge for which I was woefully unprepared.

This semester I decided to take ASL classes. I imagined myself slowly mastering signs and gaining the impressive ability to interact with deaf people.

Then reality hit me.

You have to be able to read the other person’s signs. Duh! Well, it is much, much more difficult than I had anticipated. Every time I attempt to decipher my instructor’s words all I see is blur of hands and a grimace or eyebrow-raise every few signs (for grammar).

Chinese was easier for me. At least the characters stay still!

Hopefully I shall find motivation to pursue ASL after this semester, but for now I remain a perpetually embarrassed student.

 

Leave a Reply

